Ventura County has a reputation for being the 2nd toughest county when it comes to exercising penalties and dealing with drunk drivers. It has the second-highest conviction rate for drunk driving. Ventura County is often taken up as a model county that tends to give tough sanctions to the offenders.
And getting booked for a DUI is the last thing you want to deal with. But before you give up entirely and decide to plead guilty, you have to think about whether a good defense will help get your case dismissed. Working with a local Ventura County DUI Lawyer will give you a good idea of the DUI law in Ventura County, California.
Here are some facts you should know about DUI charges in Ventura County.
The Court and DMV
If you get charged for DUI in Ventura County, California, there can be two separate processes you may have to go through. The first will be your arraignment in court. During the arraignment, the District Attorney will file the criminal charges.
After this, regardless of the court’s result, the DMV will conduct a separate and independent administrative hearing. It is to determine whether any facts exist, giving the power to the DMV to suspend your license.
But at the end of the day, if the case takes a wrong turn, you will either be convicted of the charge or plead guilty. In this case, you will have to face harsh penalties. For misdemeanor charges, the jail time can be one year, and you may have to go to prison for a felony.
To protect yourself, it is very important to hire a local attorney immediately once you are charged with DUI. When you have a Ventura County DUI Lawyer representing you, you will have many advantages on your side. Importantly, you can avoid jail, avoid getting your license suspended, and even get your case dismissed.
First Offense In Ventura County – Basic Probation
Fees and fine will come up to $3400. Compared to any other county, this is the highest.
If your BAC (Blood Alcohol Level) is not 0.25 or very high, you can get credits for the time served. This means you will not have to do community service or spend additional jail time. If the BAC is above 0.25, then you will have to do community service.
You will have to serve 36 months of formal probation. If you perform well during the probation for a minimum of 18 months, then your DUI lawyer can get your probation terminated early and also get your case expunged.
AA Meetings & Alcohol School
The alcohol school lasts for three months. You will have to attend one to two hours of sessions. You will require at least twenty such sessions.
Second Offense In Ventura County Within 10 Years
Fees and fine will come up to $3400.
You have to serve a minimum of thirty days at the Ventura County Jail. Instead of jail time, it is possible for you to do work furlough at the facility in Camarillo airport for twelve hours every day.
You should serve 60 months of formal probation.
You have to attend the alcohol school for eighteen months for the second offense, and it will cost around $2000.
Third & Fourth Offense In Ventura County Within Ten Years
For the third offense, the penalties are almost the same as the second offense. But you have to serve at least 120 days in jail.
The fourth offense in Ventura County is considered a felony, which will subject you to felony terms, and prison commitments are highly possible.
When you or your loved ones are charged with a DUI in Ventura County, you must behave proactively and immediately reach out to a local Ventura County DUI Lawyer to help you.
When you work with them from the start, they will have enough information and resources to dismiss the charges in the early stages without risking your license or freedom.
(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)
Last modified: February 13, 2021